Please type your name and address in the form below along with your personal message to send an email message to the following people.

Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers: eversinfo@wisconsin.gov
Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer: whitmerg@michigan.gov
Liesel Clark, EGLE Director: EGLE-Assist@Michigan.gov
Teresa Seidel, Director Water Resources Division: SeidelT@michigan.gov
Jill Van Dyke, Geology Specialist, Water Use Program: VandykeJ1@michigan.gov
Adam Wygant, Director Oil, Gas & Mineral Division: WygantA@michigan.gov
Luke Trumble, Dam Safety Engineer: TrumbleL@Michigan.gov
Mark Snow, Permitting & Technical Services Manager/OGM Division: snowm@michigan.gov
George L. Krisztian, Assistant Director Drinking Water & Environmental Health Division: KrisztianG@Michigan.gov

 

Call to Action 2021 Letter

Call to Action 2021 Letter

Let your voice be heard by letting these people know.

First
Last
Address *
Address
City
State/Province
Zip/Postal
Country

Please register my strong objections to Aquila Resources’ proposed tailings dam design for the Back Forty project. The upstream dam design proposed by Aquila is the lowest cost option but the most prone to failure, according to experts. Upstream dams are extremely unstable in areas of heavy rainfall such as the upper Midwest. Michigan’s own Association of State Dam Safety Officials (ASDSO) warned that if widespread flooding or even an extreme rain event occurred, the Dam Safety Program would be “hard-pressed to act adequately” in the case of a catastrophic dam failure.

Because of the demonstrated risk associated with upstream dam construction, an international group of 142 scientists representing 24 nations urged that upstream dams must not be built at any new facilities.

I urge you to protect our communities from the potentially catastrophic damage of a tailings dam failure by doing everything in your power to prohibit the upstream dam construction design for the Back Forty tailings dam.